WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Blues

So today is my 1460th blip. It would have fallen on Friday, but I was in no mood for celebration then after the shock of seeing the results of the UK referendum when I got up. I just couldn't face posting on that topic, or doing anything fancy/celebratory. Hence no blip for two days. I actually posted my first blip on 4 January 2012, so I've been here for well over four years, and 1460 is just a number. Even if I've been slacking lately I am so glad that Blipfoto is still here -- a community of people who are kind and thoughtful, reinforced by two blipmeets in the last week.

Today was the official launch of the summer season's events. The budget constraints were even more severe than last year -- instead of a banda we had a guy from the next village with an electronic keyboard. But it was as convivial as ever and the wine flowed very freely. 

I met some new neighbours, R and S,  who have just moved into the newest housing estate on the outskirts of the village. They are from Yorkshire, which is pretty astonishing, as for twenty years we have been the only British residents in the village. By the end of the afternoon there was plenty of well-lubricated entente cordiale between them and their new neighbours. I took their friends, visiting in a camper van, to look round Pamphyle's studio in the chateau (blip). When we returned to the square, R was horizontal, so it seemed like it was time they went home :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.