Mallard Chicks

I took the day off today, partly because I had been hoping to get a call to be part of the count (didn't happen) and partly as its been a very busy week and I knew I'd be shattered.

So I have pottered about. Had a long bath. Done my nails, and gone for a lovely stroll in the park. I went round both the large and top (ornamental) lakes. There are plenty of young birds about, and I saw young Canada Geese, coots and these Mallard Chicks. I even saw two Great Crested Grebes - first time I've seen them on the lake! So that was a bonus. The swans are still sat on the nests. 

The coot chicks are both still alive, and now both feeding themselves, although Mum is keeping a close eye. There are also Coot Chicks on the upper lake and Coots still on nests at the moment. One was even behaving as if she was laying. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.