peterdawson

By peterdawson28

The end of the line?

The track to nowhere? Dead end?.........I hope these don't become metaphors for my country but after this morning's frankly numbing referendum result I don't see any great reasons for optimism.

Since coming home from South Africa nearly two years ago I have suffered from fairly acute depression. Much of this was caused of personal issues but it was deepened by a sense that I had returned, after only a relatively short absence, to a country that I no longer quite recognised or felt at ease in.

To find a so called political party that existed solely to agitate against the EU running so high in the polls was something I found deeply unsettling and personally repellent. When UKIP was annihilated at the general election in 2015 I thought that would be an end to it.

I have always felt proud to be English, proud to be British and happy to be a European. Now thanks to an unholy alliance between a demagogue who appeals to the meanest side of human nature, a group of self-serving and power seeking Tory politicians, the various groups of extreme right-wing window-lickers and, it must be said, the vast majority of the main stream media, I feel no such pride and have been denied such happiness.

Of course I have to also remember that every other person I speak to will have voted in favour of this nonsense which will make me feel pretty miserable and I foresee could be the cause of serious social unrest in the future. My passport is due for renewal next year - what colour will the new one be and how far will I be able to get from all of this?

I'm not normally given to rants on social media and Blip is probably the last place I should have vented my spleen like this. Tomorrow I promise I'll get back to my usual offerings of foxes and slightly out of focus bees.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.