Identity

I awoke this morning in a country I'm now not so sure I want to live in anymore. A country I suddenly feel I know far less than I thought.

At first I was incredulous, then just deeply shocked. I passed through puzzled and dallied with angry, but as the day has worn on I'm just so sad and ashamed that this is who we now are. Friends from the continent have asked how, and I can't tell them. They ask why and I've no answer I want to say aloud.
For my entire conscious life we've been part of something bigger, something that could be better, we've shouldered our burden and I think we've gained just as much as we've given - albeit in ways so many don't seem to value. My experience has been a nation that built tunnels and bridges, now we're a people who want walls.

It's my journal and I need to record this, the day we turned our backs and let the worst of us win. I've tried to write this so many ways, tried so hard to respect others views, but the crass selfishness, the lack of good spirit - hell the choice to put our faith in the worst of us - I'm at a loss.
I know in years to come I'll look at this journal and be wowed by the places I've been, the sights I've seen - but this day will be a dark day who's shadow will be cast for a long long time.
And how to record that for blip? A passport has long been the measure of identity - proof of who you are. When did you last really look at one though?
European Union - no more
United Kingdom - no more
Great Britain - no more

Do we really know who we are anymore?

Oh & philosophy Friday?
"The problem with the world is that intelligent people are full of doubts, while the stupid ones are full of confidence" Charles Buckowski.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.