Lincolnshire poppies

A long, hot and humid day plant recording in the very attractive villages of Fulbeck and Caythorpe, together with a quick visit to an area of species-rich grassland between the A153 and the railway at Wilsford, This was a delight, with a very large population of Fine-leaved Sandwort, a very rare plant in the UK and plenty of Bee Orchids. 

As I was returning to the car I met another botanist who I've corresponded with by email but never met, and who's doing 2020 Atlas recording for me. How strange that we should both turn up in that same place, particularly when I'd been thinking about him only minutes beforehand.

The evening proved to be slightly stressful. The freezer door hadn't shut properly due to an ice buildup, so Alex and I did an emergency defrost. I eventually got to bed about quarter to one, totally shattered.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.