Food for thought

We knew it was too close to call, and as we watched the live coverage last night, we held on to the hope that the vote would be for the UK to remain in the EU.  Then we heard the final result just before going to bed.  Shattered, gutted, stunned, incredulous - I don't know the right word to describe how I feel.  It's all over our news today, the radio, the TV, the newspapers.  I overheard many conversations in the aisles of the grocery store and had a long discussion with the cashier. 
Our weekly challenge theme is Food.  The result of the vote certainly provides food for thought.   What now?  What will the repercussions be?  Will Scotland hold another referendum for independence?  (thankful that my countrymen voted to stay in)  What will Northern Ireland do?  What will the economic effects be?  How will this affect relationships between the UK and the rest of Europe and the world?  Cameron has resigned - what will Corbyn decide to do?  Many more questions, and no clear answers.  I'm betting that there were headlines around the world about this result.  As a bit of a news and politics junkie, I find all this fascinating but more than a bit depressing.    Donald Trump is spouting rhetoric in Scotland just now, and I doubt that he has any idea what he's talking about.  On the night of the American election, I fear that we'll hear that he will be  the next president.   Then I will be totally depressed.  The world is such a small place now, and everything affects all of us.  My young cousin who visited us the other day said that this is how he responds to these two questions:
Where are you from?   Earth.
What nationality/race are you?  Human
Too true, and if only we could realize that we're all in this together.
Extras: Looking out my kitchen window and seeing the little deer family having lunch does cheer me up somewhat.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.