Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Building trolley

Monster training today. Once through each of the five Heian kata to warm up, followed by ten times each through the kata Junro Shodan, Jion, Ji'in, Jutte, Bassai Dai, and Tekki Shodan. Somewhere between an hour and a half and two hours, with my heart rate probs around 180 for almost all of it. Felt awesome - except for my feet trying to freeze themselves off on the cold bricks (the "feels like" temperature was 5 or 6 degrees celsius).

Before that, we headed down to Penrith, to visit the Apple Store, to see about my iPhone, which had developed an annoying habit over the last few months, of intermittently turning off and declaring its battery to be completely discharged - however, when I plugged it in, I'd find it had 40-50% left.

True to form, despite not finding anything obviously wrong with the software or battery, they gave me a new one. Restoring from my backup has been a far cry from the simple job I'd have thought it ought, but it appears to be fine now.

While down there, I nabbed the inevitable trolley; this one appealed as a rather different setting and load.

Bettr; Flickr.

The kata, if you're interested (Chidokan versions do differ from Shotokan, so a couple of these links are to videos of me):

Heian shodan
Heian nidan
Heian sandan
Heian yondan (me, even though the hands' movement should be a little different before each kick/double punch)
Heian godan

Junro shodan

Jion (I'm not sure why, but I find this kata ridiculously exhausting; ten times through took some doing).
Ji'in
Jutte (also called Jitte) (ours does differ enough that I find Kanazawa's version jarring - but my video of it, from back in March, isn't up to scratch).

Bassai Dai

Tekki shodan

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.