A very personal blip...

A sunny start to the day and a morning visit to Bath to return ALL the shopping that I did before my trip to Spain. That’s the kind of shopping trip I like, I came home considerably more wealthy than when I went in!

It’s been an afternoon of rain showers but that hasn’t bothered me as I’ve been glued to the tele, watching coverage of the British Athletics Championships in Birmingham. My friend’s son, Nathan, was invited to take part in the 800m, with the chance to be selected to represent Great Britain at the Rio Olympics. (You may remember that last Summer I went to his farewell party as he headed off to take up a fully-funded sports scholarship to train and study at University in the US: https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2077076752630284861 )

Nathan finished fourth in his heat, behind Michael Rimmer (who has already represented Great Britain on many occasions) so he was up against tough competition, especially as Nathan isn’t that well at the moment. Nevertheless, it was a huge honour for him to have been invited to take part, and his family and friends are immensely proud of him. At the tender age of 19, Nathan has a bright future in front of him. Watch out for his name in the future!!

(I was hoping to take a photo of Nathan actually competing, but the BBC Red Button coverage switched to coverage of Glastonbury the race before he was due to compete! Instead I had to follow the race on the radio and so you have a screen grab of the results. Please excuse a very personal blip...)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.