Stormy skies or a clearing mist?

The meteorological mist cleared quite quickly this morning to leave a lovely sunny day. The political and social mist is thickening though.

I am dismayed at the referendum result. As a much younger friend posted on a different social media site 'the storm hasn't even begun'. I'm horrified at what has happened and furious that the referendum was even called. I'm not naive about the EU and understand its faults but I didn't want to leave it, for myself, for the next generation and the one(s) after that.

I dread the next few months and years of division, us and them-ness (plenty of that rearing its horrible head; people already seem to have forgotten #moreincommon) and uncertainty. We'll almost certainly have a second Indy Ref when the runes read well for the government. But what will Europe look like then? Will we want to be joined to something which in all likelihood will be tearing itself apart? How ghastly it all is.

The inclusion of the Wallace Monument in this picture is not a political statement.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.