A Divided Road Forward

I was woken up this morning to the rare treat of a cup of tea in bed, and the news of the 'Leave' result of the referendum. My first reaction was one of disbelief, then shock, which turned into a sadness which continues to deepen as I write this some 36 hours later.

Whenever I have to make a difficult choice I toss a coin. I defer responsibility to Fate, not that I always do as I'm instructed - which is the key point here. Most important is my gut reaction when the coin lands either heads or tails. It's that immediate instinctive feeling that actually tells me what I really want to do.

My vote to remain wasn't cast with any great difficulty, but I hadn't realised how passionately I cared before the result came through. A quick browse around Blipfoto and Facebook showed me how much disappointment and frustration was being felt by almost everyone I know and respect. For me, like so many others, and especially younger people, this is a wrong decision being made for mostly the wrong reasons and at a very wrong time. Saddest of all is that it's proved so divisive for the whole country. There is a huge responsibility now for those in power to bring us back together again. I'm usually optimistic but I'm struggling to be so at the moment.

PS Got reunited with my Irish bike this morning. After the application of a serious quantity of oil to the chain and rings, and air to the tyres, she was good to go and gave me a serious ride. Got to love these little roads that go around the far end of the peninsular. At least there is very little traffic to worry about. I returned unscathed after a very hilly three hour ride. Physical exercise is really helping at the moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.