Wine,Women & Song

By CelloNerd

Something Old, Something Blue

As part of my birthday celebrations, Richard treated me to a weekend in Port Townsend, WA. Surprisingly, I've never visited this quaint little town on the water. After a very relaxing ferry ride (see extra photo) and a beautiful 35-minute drive, we pulled into town. 

Perhaps the most commanding building in downtown Port Townsend is the old Hastings Building. The Hastings was completed in 1890 and was considered the epitome of Victorian architecture and quite cutting edge in its day with double sets of stairways, redwood trim and wainscoting, gas and electricity-ready, and unusually large plate glass windows for the downstairs storefronts. I believe there are a few small businesses in the lower levels, but the upper floors have now sat vacant for many, many years. Big plans are in the works though to give this old gal a comprehensive historic renovation as part of the Hasting Building/Hastings Landing Project.

I thoroughly enjoyed this beautiful weekend and the much-needed respite it afforded me from phones, laptops, emails, and projects. Additionally, I am glad I finally ventured out to this stunning part of our state!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.