Near Miss

What a gloomy day today, especially after the glorious one yesterday! Cloud down to the ground, raining lightly, quite depressing really. I went down to the photo exhibition around 2pm and stayed for about 90 minutes - I suppose we had about a dozen visitors in that time, some interested and chatty, some record-breakingly quickly in and out!

As I walked along George Street, hoping for a Blip, I looked up and  noticed the 'Isle of Mull' and the 'Coruisk', the former outward bound, the latter inward, heading straight for each other. OK, not really, but it looked like it and I had about ten seconds to record it! The camera was off, so by the time it was switched on I just managed a picture of the two ships almost head on, but it unfortunately included rubbish, safety barriers and  a couple of people.

My Blip of choice was taken a few seconds later when the ships had actually passed, but by then I'd crossed the road and got a young woman in the shot too, mentally coming up with 'Near Miss' as I ran! As I pressed the shutter she suddenly dropped her head, but you can't have everything! This to me is the fun of photography and especially of Blipping - sometimes you have only seconds to act!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.