Antique

Southeast Asia was in my mind last night and I ended up flicking through this travel guide before bed.

A Lonely Planet first edition. 1986. £9.95 - quite a lot for 30 years ago.

I bought it before my first trip to Singapore, to visit a friend I worked with in the early 80s. Craig is still there. It was a 3 week trip, and as he'd be working during the week I planned to go to see other places then.

Trouble was, another friend invited me to stay with him in Hong Kong for a while. So, I didn't get to Indonesia. I still haven't been.

Maybe it's time to give the book to a charity shop. Or a museum. Is there a market for first editions of guide books?

This week will be difficult. The £ and the FTSE may lose another 10% (or worse) tomorrow morning as a result of the leadership vacuum left by Cameron after his Friday morning announcement. No doubt that is part of his plan, whatever it may be.


 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.