House Guests

Ben and Jerry are staying with us while human caretakers, George and Kat, are on honeymoon in Mauritius. I am pleased to say that they seem to be more than happy with their accommodation in the conservatory and feel no need to roam the house. Thus the moulting hair problem is confined to a couple of throws.

After checking out the camera club's photo exhibition at St Botolph's church and handing Colin a photo of his cat Nelson, with which he was most pleased, I sped off to Ketton, a quaint village southeast of Rutland Water, in the county of Rutland. The journey took me one and a half hours through some spectacular storms.

Houses in the village appear to be built exclusively of Ketton stone, which Wikipedia assures me is a Jurassic oolitic limestone. Thus, as you may imagine, the village is quite exclusive. The very fine church is a reflection of the former wealth of the area.

I was there to support Judy in a rehearsal for a forthcoming concert in which she will sing the soprano solo in the Brahms Requiem. I was delighted that I could remember the music from when I sang it in the 1970s or 80s. So long ago, I can't remember which. We shall also be performing Vaughan-Williams' Five Mystical Songs, truly lovely pieces. I particularly love this one, Love Bade Me Welcome.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.