Penguin Droppings

By gen2

Not Blue But Brown

Fellow Blipper Peebz commented on my blip yesterday that there were lots of common blue butterfliess in the meadows at Lochore Country Park so I decided to pop over this afternoon and see if I could capture a female.  Bad idea on two counts:
1) I have never seen the place so busy - I had to queue to get in and then later had to queue to get out.
2) It started spotting with rain and all the sensible butterflies were tucked up somewhere cosy.

As a result, I saw zero blue butterflies.
However, I did see several examples of two types of moth - silver-ground carpets and chimney sweeps.
Also 3 or 4 ringlet butterflies and 5 or 6 meadow browns.

Probably because of the weather, this meadow brown (Maniola jurtina) allowed me to get my camera within a few centimetres for this macro..  

I'll try again on a warmer and sunnier day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.