ciorstain

By ciorstain

New challenge

Today was another quiet day. I got up reasonably early and started sorting out images for the portrait of Britain competition and tackled some tasks that were victim of my always present talent for procrastination of uncomfortable or time consuming things. Main one is trying to get my late Mum's car on the road that I transferred from Germany to Scotland in 2013!!! I ended up realising that I need to get a COC, which takes another 2 weeks and costs 200 Euros!! I thought there was a way without it, but nope! I am thankful that Neil spent some time with the form sheets and confirmed, that I really need that COC. So I am 200 Euros poorer and am now waiting for this paper in order to FINALLY send off the application ..... Well, at least one step further!
After doing more stuff Neil and I finally got out the door after 5 pm. It was only drizzling then, which was an improvement to the first part of the day.

When we returned I tackled another challenge. Since ages I want to produce some images for the kitchen. Idea was pictures of "edibles" like vegetables or fruit. Not cooked dishes. 
I never had a try before, apart from at college, where we had to produce a picture (on large format film) inspired by Edward Weston's famous pepper No 30 ..... Ever since I have not attempted to shoot vegetables again :)
Yesterday I browsed through the veg shop in order to find a suitable and photogenic veg and ended up buying a bunch of beetroot. I put them in water overnight in order to get some life back into the leaves.
Today I moved them in my studio and had no clue what I am doing.
I produced a lot of crappy pictures and was not happy and even took some flower pictures in the end, in case all shots need to go in the bin. Beetroots seem not to be the most photogenic vegetable after all ....

The blip today is maybe the only just acceptable image I produced and it definitely was improved by some strong editing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.