Plockton twilight

Had a busy day today!  My Mum fancied a bit of a rest again this morning, so I went off exploring the coral beaches again.  I'd noticed a second footpath that seemed to go off in a different direction, so I followed that one this time and ended up on another beach completely alone.  In fact, I didn't see another soul for the next two hours or so, until I got back to the car. 

Spent a while taking photos, then decided to pick my way around the coast back to the beach I was at yesterday.  That turned out to be a bit of a mistake, as it was much, much further than I'd thought - and took me the best part of an hour and a half.  I was shattered by the time I got there - felt like I'd just spent a couple of hours at the climbing wall!

Got back to the cottage at (late) lunchtime, and made some lunch for Mum and me, then we went for another lovely drive on Skye, this time taking our favourite road down to the Kylerhea ferry.  We didn't actually catch the ferry - just turned round and drove back along the pretty, windy road.  

Bought a couple of pizzas and some salad at the Co-Op on the way back, and had a nice easy dinner in the cottage.  The reflections on the loch were looking pretty awesome, so I grabbed my camera and tripod and sat out there for a good hour or so (about 9-10pm), watching the clouds and the light shift.  Very chilled out.  Even better once I'd doused myself in midge repellent!

While I was taking photos, an Australian woman came up to take some too and we ended up chatting for a short while.  Bizarrely, it turned out she'd been staying with a friend from Wells before coming up to Scotland - her friend lives in the next road to my Mum, and also works at a charity shop where someone else I know works.  What a small world!

Tried to get off to bed at a reasonable time, but the EU referendum results started rolling in as I was about to go, and I ended up transfixed until almost 2am, with somewhat of a sinking feeling....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.