Just trying to survive

By NovaLovesFrogs

Bloodwork

Thank you all so much for your continued love, support, and prayers.

Today I ended up too sick to go see Cosmo, but B went to see him and took Tuxie to visit. (B took this picture.)

Cosmo's bloodwork has significantly improved! It's not quite where we want it yet, but we're at the point where this officially counts as a miracle. When the vet called he sounded like he couldn't even believe what he was telling me.

Cosmo is off the IV and now getting fluids subq. (Subq is when fluids and/or medication is injected underneath the skin.)

Unfortunately, his appetite is suffering. We believe it's because he's starting to get depressed from being in a kennel for so long. (He's never been hospitalized or borded before. Only times he's ever been in a kennel for more than eight hours is when we're traveling, and he shares with Tuxie and we take them out and let them walk around at rest stops.) The staff at the vet had to begin gently force-feeding Cosmo to make sure he wouldn't start weakening.

Aside from his appetite, he's still improving.

He's still urinating on his own, but the vet isn't sure whether or not Cosmo actually has any control over it.

If he does well tonight, the plan is to bring him home tomorrow afternoon. Then drop him off Wednesday morning before my surgery, and B will go pick him up after he gets me home and in bed.

While it would be easier to just leave Cosmo at the vet until Wednesday afternoon, we have to think about his emotional health, too. If he gets depressed, all this progress might be lost and we could lose him.

It's not about what's easiest, it's about what's overall best for Cosmo.

My surgery is Wednesday morning.

I'm not sure if I'll feel up to blipping much for a while. I'm gonna ask B to blip for me if I don't feel up to it to keep you all updated on Cosmo and/or my condition. If he does, he may or may not reply to comments. If he's blipping in my place, I'll have him use the tag 'BforJ'.

Just letting you all know.

Still need lots of prayers.

I hope you all are doing well. Take care and be careful.

Don't pass up any opportunities to let the people and animals in your life know you love them.

I love you all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.