TheJuicyDoyenne

By TheJuicyDoyenne

Traveling Andy

I want to go on a road trip.
I want to travel 3,000 or 10,000
miles across the country. I want to 
wake up, get in a car with people I love,
have all the windows down, and feel the wind,
along my face. I want to experience new things,
meet new people, explore, and figure out who I am.
~ A.E., Bucket List #1

Three short years ago today I was all packed up and ready to leave on a road trip to Memphis, Tennessee before relocating from central Pennsylvania to central Florida.
My son Chance had just graduated from high school and we were on a mission to visit Graceland together before he had to ship off to boot camp at Naval Station Great Lakes near Chicago, Illinois.
Joining us on this grand adventure was Chance's best friend, Austin and all of my cherished house plants, including Andy the avocado tree.
Andy has been part of my family since he was a wee nubbin of a seed that I planted about five years ago and I, in fact, often refer to him as "your other brother" when conversing with my kids.
Now, while Andy didn't quite make it inside the gates of Graceland, he did, indeed, stay in the Graceland Suite at the Heartbreak Hotel and had his photo taken with Elvis('s portrait).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.