Rusty!

The weather forecast for today was sunny for the start so I set off to get my pics quite early. I had decided I wanted to get some close-ups of rust and was trying to think of likely places that weren't too far away.  A good starting point was a local 'farm' cum builder's yard.  This hasn't been used as a proper farm for about 15 years - it had a dairy herd and milking parlour when we first moved to Bierton.  Latterly it has been used by a builder for storing stuff, most of which appears to be rubbish but it was 'Rust Heaven'.  So much fascinating detail there and all within a five minute walk from home which means I can easily go back to get more pics when the time and light is right.

This patch of rust was taken with the 105 macro plus an extension tube, so quite close in.

I am just contemplating using this as a theme for a Royal Photographic Society 'Associate' panel - 15 images on a theme.  My theme would be Patina - the aging of metal, wood and paint.It will be interesting to see whether I can keep up the momentum of producing the necessary images of the required quality.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.