Friday Foto

By drmackem

Blea Tarn

Early start today, having told you I plan to do the Jura Fell race next year, I have to admit too I'm no fell runner. Anyway I've frightened myself into doing something about it. My first race will be Three Shires in about 6 weeks, so today I went to recce it. I caught a lot of showers, and visibility on Wetherlam and Swirl How was poor. My route finding was spot on til the sun came out and I was all over the fell descending to Blea Tarn (my start finish point). Must work that out before race day or I'll be timed out on the fell.

I absolutely loved it, I love the feeling of climbing, on the edge of what you can do, the lactate burn, the lungs burn the reminder that you are 100% alive. Now I need to learn to love descending.

Best news in the Olympics today was local girl Lizzie Armstrong getting silver in the road race.
Worst news is Paula missing the marathon due to injury. Lots will be written about it I'm sure. She still has 4 of the 5 fastest women's marathon times ever. She took her discipline onto another level and then some, I can't think of any other Uk runner who has done that for a very long time, a legend, an inspiration.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.