But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Unidentified Woodland Flower.

While taking Hamish for his morning constitutional, I spotted a few macro opportunities for today’s TinyTuesday challenge. Although I had my camera with me, I returned later with macro lens and tripod, I don’t find dog walking fits in well with photo-ops. Merlin has been known to walk back home while I’ve been concentrating, leaving me wondering where on earth he’s gone. He tends to wander off anyway and, being a wee bit low slung, is difficult to spot in the long grass; combine that with the refusal to come when called and you have a most unsatisfactory relationship.
 
This wild flower is common in our bluebell wood, it’s a strange plant bearing just a couple of five mm diameter flowers at the top of quite a long stem. It appears to have six petals, though I’ll go back and check, and they’re spaced rather than overlapping. Neither myself or Mrs TD have the slightest idea what it might be, though I must admit that I could have taken a picture more suited to providing an identification. The habitat is dense, ancient, broad-leafed woodland where it was dark enough to make a three second exposure necessary, and sufficiently shelter from the wind to make it practical
 
I chose this variety as I have had trouble with yellow flowers in the past; it has been suggested that I’ve been misreading the histogram and over exposing. I suspect that it’s true, but only for shiny ones, like the buttercup, which enjoy the sun. I’ll have to try that sometime.


Thanks to WalkingWombat for hosting this challenge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.