SADNESS IN OUR WORLD

I have been awake since about 3.30 this morning and by 4.30 I knew I wasn’t going back to sleep, so got up and went out into the garden.  It was very peaceful with just a few birds singing and very little traffic, so I was able to wander round thinking and praying.  I was thinking of all those involved in the carnage at Istanbul airport, which had been brought to our television screens last night almost at the moment it all happened.

Such sadness in our broken and fractured world and yet life goes on, but for many this morning, it will be a very different life - seeing the raindrops on this mauve poppy spoke to me of the many tears that will be shed after the horrors of last night.

Jesus said:
Peace I leave with you; 
     my peace I give you. 
I do not give to you 
     as the world gives. 
Do not let your hearts be troubled 
     and do not be afraid.
John 14:27
New International Version

I have been listening to this beautiful Taizé song - sometimes repetitive words are what we need when our minds are in turmoil and we feel sad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.