ABSTRACT THURSDAY

I must confess that I haven’t even looked to see if there is a theme for the Abstract Thursday challenge because I was decanting some oil from one bottle to another when I thought that I would have a play around with some oil, water and food colouring.  Then I had to search for the food colouring but found it eventually.

It was fun playing around and of course, being me, I got oil and blue colouring all over my hands - but there is something in most of us that enjoys playing around - and I really enjoyed it.  Then I found a straw and was trying to blow bubbles in the water, being very careful, of course, not to suck instead of blow!

Then I realised that I could just blow on the surface and this changed the patterns, so had a go at that too.  Mr. HCB came into the kitchen and asked in his usual way “What are you doing now?”  I had taken a photograph already so showed this one to him and he said “Is that you?” When I told him to look again, I also suggested he goes back to have his glasses checked!  He explained that he could see a face and assumed it was mine - he’s only been looking at mine for about 50 years, so perhaps that’s how he sees me!  He did beat a hasty retreat from the kitchen and is now out washing the new car and says it will be ready for me to polish when I have done my Blip!

I think Mr. HCB has a case of “pareidolia”, the tendency to perceive a specific, often meaningful image in a random or ambiguous visual pattern - a word I learned from fellow blipper, LSquare, and it's always good to use a new word once you have learned it.

“Vision is the art
     of seeing
          the invisible.”
Jonathon Swift

P.S.  Apologies for not commenting yesterday, but thank you for all your kind comments and stars - we were out for a Chinese meal with friends we haven't seen for a while. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.