Edinburgh Chap's Photos

By GilesGuthrie

Dryadula (211/366)

With a "macro" challenge, I thought it needed to be something living. Plants or bugs then. The wind was up, and the children were bored, so we decamped to the Edinburgh Butterfly World at Dobbies in Melville.

It wouldn't surprise me if other Blippers were there, as there was some serious kit on display.

I'm no lepidopterist, but comparing this shot with the £1 "guide" (*) leads me to believe this may be a Dryadula, heralding from Central & South America.

Anyway, it was a pleasant hour or so with the children who were totally into it, and only disturbed 6 or 7 of the butterflies that I was actively trying to shoot!

This, fairly evidently, is my entry for the WBC challenge of "macro".

(*) The guide makes clear that butterflies use different designs in the wings open/wings closed formation, but only shows the wings-open design. Less than fully useful for identifying stationary butterflies...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.