Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

In The Box

It's been a really abysmal rainy day again - a typical British summer day.  Mrs BB and I went out late afternoon for a drive - her to read her book and me to look for a photo. I did take one but on getting home it was spoiled by rain spots!

I was only supposed to do a scheduled evening call but as they were desperate, I ended up doing one when we were out and then a couple this evening. By this time the rain had stopped and the sky brightened up.

I saw this telephone box and it as it fitted the criteria for todays wide angle wednesday challenge on the theme of 'glass' I stopped and took some photo's. It was on a busy road junction (maybe that's why it hasn't been vandalised?) and I can imagine the looks I was getting as I took some photo's of it! Probably not as bad as yesterdays drain photo.

I notice these iconic red British telephone boxes are starting to disappear slowly: Either not being replaced as more use mobile telephones, or by new steel ones.

Telephone boxes have been around since the early 1900's. This link gives an excellent history of the red telephone box if you want a read...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.