Silly Young Blackbird And Silly Me

It was beautifully bright here in Essex first thing. I got a nice magpie moth and Crabby lurking inside the trumpet of a morning glory flower. Things went downhill from there as the wind and rain moved in.

I saw in passing on Twitter that Sainsbury's employees, in conjunction with the British Legion, had been planting poppies outside @wabbey in remembrance of those who died in the battle of The Somme.

I got fed up with waiting for the rain to stop and headed for Waltham Abbey. I walked round the abbey twice and couldn't see any sign of poppies. I asked in a solicitor's if they knew where the poppies were. They hadn't heard about them. A woman in the abbey gardens directed me to the war memorial. No poppies. I went to the Royal Gunpowder Mills. Nobody to ask and no poppies.

When I got home I checked Twitter and immediately realised my mistake. Westminster Abbey, which was not shown in its entirety in the pics, looked cursorily like Waltham Abbey. I'm as silly as the young blackbird in my pic, which knows it should be pecking around for food but has a beak full of inedible twiglets. :) 

    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.