Skippy

I had a dental appointment this morning but went for a quick run round with Jazzy before I left. I was delighted to see this diminutive butterfly skipping amongst the grasses and wild flowers. I snapped the above shot and then prostrated myself to get a better angle but it took off and I hadn't got time to try to find it. :( When I returned from swimming this afternoon it was dull and starting to rain. 

I think it is an Essex skipper but am not 100% sure as my pic isn't that great. Essex skippers and small skippers are very similar. The Essex have black undersides to the tips of their antennae. I'll be out tomorrow looking for it. Not as mad as it sounds. I love it that insects have their individual territories. I've photographed a very battered speckled wood butterfly half way down Butterfly Alley two days running. Amazing that it hasn't been taken by a bird considering the reduction in its wing area. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.