Chasing Dragons

I had a nice walk at Amwell Nature Reserve after lunch, spending a long time on The Dragonfly Trail. I pushed my way through the reeds to the area where I photographed the rare spreadwing willow emerald damselfly last year but I think it is too early for that to be on the wing. My pic is of a four-spotted chaser. I also got a male black-tailed skimmer, a dragonfly with pruinescence on its abdomen which I have seen but not photographed before. I was fortunate that a recorder who was counting dragons came along and confirmed this for me.

I had left the trail and was attempting to shoot terns when I noticed a young girl in shorts with a net on the walkway above the pools. I went to investigate. She was helping her brother Jamie catch, photograph and release damsels and dragons. Jamie decided at a young age that he wants to be an entomologist and is going to university to study towards it. He is passionate and very knowledgeable about Odonata.

While I was with them a damselfly landed on Jamie's sister's shorts with a crane fly nearly as big as it in its jaws. I was fascinated by how skillfully they caught and Jamie handled the insects and enjoyed the time I spent with them and their father. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.