The Essence Of Essex

I spent yesterday extolling the virtues of the beautiful county of my birth with the team from Visit Essex. The theme has continued. A good, car club, social media savvy, friend contacted me on Twitter to ask if I knew about the Grand Fly Past to celebrate the centenary of 72 Squadron. I hadn't heard about it. The four RAF Tucanos were due over North Weald Airfield, Essex at 10:38.

While I was waiting I saw the brand new Agusta Westland AW169 helicopter of the Essex and Herts Air Ambulance undergoing trials. What a fantastic machine it is!

It was raining on and off and thunder rumbling in the distance but it was a thrill to see the lights of the formation emerging from the gloom. All the more thrilling when they doubled back and made a low pass over the airfield. (Extras)

Jazzy and I went for a walk in the rain after lunch and I spotted my first Essex skipper butterfly of the season. Another big thrill! I love these demure little creatures. It flew up and landed right next to a small skipper, which was fortuitous as the pair are often confused. The Essex has antennae that look like they've been dipped in ink. What an exquisite butterfly it is. (Extras)

Today's poem is To the Harbormaster by Frank O'Hara. https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poems-and-poets/poems/detail/42661

I think I get the feeling of of being "hard alee with my Polish rudder in my hand and the sun sinking." It's not what the editors of Poem For The Day Two suggest, a reference to a Rembrandt painting The Polish Rider.    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.