Foucault Pendulum

I know I was able to sleep in, but the rest of the day is kind of hazy. I did go to the pharmacy where I was able to collect my brown asthma puffer, not before time. The old one was empty of puffs and Len says I've been coughing during the night.

Of course, it rained. But not before I'd risen at 4.30 am with cramp in my feet and realised that the atmosphere was still. Which enabled me to pop outside and take a photo of this plant before a breeze sprang up. If someone could identify it for me, I'd be extremely grateful. Then I went back to bed.

I drove to Uppingham in the late afternoon to meet Elaine and to go to the Uppingham School's production of Dido and Anaeus. If you don't know the piece, it features sublime music by Henry Purcell and is often credited with being the first all-sung English opera.

Elaine and I reckoned it was put on by the Lower 6th. Some promising voices and the chorus work was impressive. I just felt that Dido needed to be sung by someone with more life experience. Her intonation was also ever so slightly flat, which could be corrected by correct breathing rather than feeling that she had to stand like a martinet.

Arias such as I am press'd with torment, and When I am laid in earth, call for a more mature voice. Belinda sang very nicely.

The boys were having a good time and entered fully into the spirit of things. Two of them played the first and second witches.

It was an interesting setting and one to which the performers could relate I think. A club, a garden in an elite setting, and a sorceress dressed sharply in red.

The interval was an hour long and taken in the Science block at the school, where Elaine and I saw this rather impressive Foucault Pendulum. I felt that Elaine and I resembled Edie and Patsy a bit, from Absolutely Fabulous, sneaking after the free fizz on offer.

Home shortly after 11 pm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.