Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

WildWednesday: American Rubyspot

This male damselfly is a member of the Broadwing family.  They generally can be found along streams and irrigation ditches during the summer months here along the Front Range of the Rockies.  They are relatively easy to photograph because, even if they fly off, they usually return to the same grass stem or twig.  Inspired by dibifulco, I was able to coax this one onto my hand long enough for a few shots (see extra).

My second extra is a screenshot from the Osprey nestcam.  I haven't mentioned them since they lost their first three chicks but here they are with #4 who has been thriving as an only child.  The smaller male is on the left and the female with her lovely necklace is on the right and #4 needs no introduction.  There's lots of action in the nest now with a toddler to care for.  I've been watching the cam regularly but I haven't been to the nest because it's been so darn hot.  And...while you're looking at the extras, check out the main blip on the dark background.  :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.