Come one step closer and I will jump...

This red billed gull was readying himself to leap  as I came closer along the path. He was probably checking to see if I had any fish and chips.

This is the most common gull in NZ and  Australia - where it is known as the 'Silver Gull'. I learned a lot about them from my bird book today. For instance it is a native,  protected and the numbers are declining. Could have fooled me. Juveniles have a black beak and legs and this one is transitioning to the red bill and legs of the adult. They are monogamous and long lived - a ringed one was discovered to be nearly 31 years old.

There was a very strong fish smell down stream from the Fish Factory today with lots of while scummy  stuff floating along in the slower flowing waters edge. As far as the eye could see, the edges of the water were lined with busily feeding gulls of all types, and oyster catchers. There were shags too feeding in deeper water. What ever had been released from the factory was a real bonanza for the birds.

Another red billed gull in the extras just because I like the "you called?" look it has and the second extra shows the waters edge lined with  birds feasting.

Just as I was leaving the wharf, a local lady arrived with her phone at the ready. She asked if I had any good photos of the birds because her camera group meets tomorrow and she had come to try and get a bird photo to show. She asked if I had any good shots, could I send her one so she could take it to the meeting and pass off as hers. I told her all mine were rubbish. Some people!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.