The way I see it.

By christinePears

What happened to the bee?

A tremendously relaxing day. After church sandra and I headed out to Cawdor Castle and had a marvellous 2 hours exploring inside and out. I had no idea that there was so much to see - wonderful gardens and woodlands and a very interesting self guided tour of one wing of the building. We could have easily spent a whole day there and had to leave as the gates were shutting and so could not do one of the 4 routes through the beautiful woodlands.

There were wonderful steely blue Eryngiums growing in profusion and they looked particularly beautiful against a backdrop of yellow anthemis flowers. What puzzled me was the number of dead or semi comatose bees that were clinging to the underside of the flowers. Had they become impaled on the sharp thorns? The one in this picture is trying to cling on and when I gently tapped the stem it slowly raised one leg to try to fight me off but returned to it's former position. There were many other dead bees on other eryngiums....a bit of a mystery!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.