stuff & nonsense

By sleepyhead

The Lively Birds

A play on words with a slightly non-PC title. I don't normally post pictures of other blippers as I kind of hate seeing myself in front of the camera but these two usual suspects have posted themselves often enough that I know it won't be a problem.

I kinda guessed that this pair would get on like a house on fire and so it came as no surprise that I found them gassing in the dinning room when I came down the stairs (last - again, no surprises there) in the morning. It would have been rude to interrupt, besides they completely ignored me when I pressed my nose against the other side of the glass...

A delicious breakfast of pancakes and bacon and jam and cream and tea followed. I was force fed the last of the pancakes and bacon - no, seriously!!! - before we packed up our gear and headed out for the day. A side track to Stirling castle. Getting up close and personal with Rebort Bruce and an impromptu photo shoot on the esplanade wall took place before we took flight arriving soon after at our ultimate destination for the day, the Kelpies. It was a first for all but me and the mahoooosive water equines didn't disappoint. Everyone was suitably impressed as we all tried to get that illusive angle that removes the power cables that pass behind and the motorway that passes in front of them. Honestly, does nobody think about photographic composition when placing these things!

Back to Casa D for dinner, a gorgeous "non-runny" lasagne ;-). All too soon though, it was time to depart and head back home to Edinburgh. As we drove back in the dark, we were presented with the wonder of the Kelpies again, this time all lit up. A return visit was demanded.

The last day of my holiday, I was back to work the next day while Gitama was heading west on the next leg of her journey to the Emerald Isle.

I was adequately compensated by a humongous portion of lasagne as I left. It was just as delicious on days two and three D. Thanks sooo much for a wonderful sleepover. x

Since Gitama combined a million days into one entry (linked yesterday) you can find Damnonii's take on the day here.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.