An Old Contemptible.

My Grandfather. Like thousands of others on the day at the Somme, he went over the top as ordered. On the back of his Military Cross reads, " Lieut (A/Captain) L.J.Kemp. 3rd Batt The Queens Regt. Aveluy Wood. 1st July 1916. George V gave it to him at Buckingham Palace, 19th Oct 1916. He was 20 years old.
In the 36 years i knew him he never once spoke of the Great War. Talk to you about cricket,beer,Churchill,Hitler, growing veg. Any number of stories of his drinking nights with Somerset Maugham and George Orwell at the Tankerton Hotel near Whitstable. But not the war. He died aged 96, felt tired after a pint at the Bun Penny in Herne Bay, returned to his room and never woke up. The most content man I ever knew. The newspaper cutting is from the Herne Bay Gazette
I have the medal in my den, often look at it, think if he could survive that,then what on earth have I got to moan about.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.