An Art Field Trip

Several women from my Berkeley book group came up today to  visit Calabi Gallery and the very mixed media works of works of James Ford Grant a friend of Anita, (center in the extra) one of the book group members. He was there to talk with us about his sculptures, one of which is on the right above, and mixed media paintings. I think his work would look wonderful in our garden.

When we finished there we walked around the corner to the Sonoma County Art Museum which had a large show of Berkeley Artist Thomas Holland sculptures and paintings in acrylic on metal, we all loved several of his pieces which are very large, very colorful and very appealing, although even our garden might not be large enough to contain one. I especially liked the negative spaces in the work pictured on the left above. All of his work was fascinating and could have held my attention for longer than we  had.

Since both artists had great abstract work, I thought they would make a good entry for Abstract Thursday. I'm not happy with the collage making apps for my MacBook, but I couldn't find a single one with a darker frame.

The fun part was getting everybody across town to our house where OilMan had purchased a light lunch for us at the VJB winery deli down the road. None of them had seen our house and I was so pleased that they were coming that I apparently drove off too fast for all three cars to follow me. I must admit I didn't have a good feeling about leading that many cars  all the way across town, and we did indeed become separated, but thanks to the wonders of modern communications two of the cars got here before I did!. James came too which was a great relief to OilMan. He's a delightful man and one of those people who can fix anything (ore make art) with a bent paper clip, some rebar and a few screws. OilMan and I must have a field trip to his studio to Bodega one day soon….

Heartfelt thanks for your very kind comments on my anniversary blip yesterday…you are a wonderful group and very much an important part of my life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.