Suspension

My ability to take decent shots seems to be diminishing by the day, and I seem to come out of some days (like today) without a single shot I really want to blip! They seem to all be either over exposed or out of focus....or both!!! I really don't think my new lens is working brilliantly, it really seems to be unable to hold focus sharply, I am not a happy bunny!
Despite the dreadful weather we are having the dragonflies have continued to hatch from the pond at work, resulting in my 'having' to take lots of shots of them every break I get! 
This Long-jawed orb weaver spider Tetragnatha extensa  was waiting around suspended on his near invisible web....very sneaky I thought, and dangerous - hanging upside down over the pond!!!  
A quick look into Wikipedia reveals this info about them
 Long-jawed Orb-weaver Spiders, sometimes called Common Stretch Spiders spin an orb web to catch their prey.  They're usually found in vegetation close to ground level and frequently close to water. 
The scientific name 'Tetragnatha' literally means four jaws, and these spiders do have some seriously large food processing utensils attached to their heads.  The jaws (known as 'chelicerae') are hinged with the fangs at the tips, and when mating the male has to lock his jaws on the females to prevent her eating him.
It seems they are more interesting than I thought!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.