Remembrance

The Poppy field is five minutes from home and past it's best.  Anyone with a camera has stopped to take photographs, disregarding the farmers crop, and have trampled a swath of the field to get a closer shot.  I decided to use the gaping hole to my advantage.  

The men were real, not at the Somme but at Flanders.  The photograph I used, held by the British Museum is of seven men, wading through thick mud, bearing a stretcher. I may be in trouble for abuse of a photo but was worth it. My extra is of the original image. 

Did these men survive? Did they return home?  We'll never know. 

My Grandfather served later in the Great War.  He was a commanding officer during the campaign in the Alps. He received a Military Cross but never once told of the ordeals that he witnessed.  All he would say was that it was too horrendous to remember. 

Almost all of us have someone who served. Few returned.  Never forget.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.