Now, isn't this silly!"

Dear Diary,

This enormous plant is growing next to my little front porch.  I think it is a wild lettuce but I've never seen one so huge before.  They normally grow 5-6 feet tall but this one is well over 8 feet and still growing.  It is like a "Jack in the Bean Stalk" thing!  Wild lettuce has been used for centuries to calm anxiety by native peoples and it has a mild narcotic effect apparently.  I'm letting this grow just to see how tall it gets.  I planted some morning glory seeds at the base in hopes they will climb the stalk, like Jack.

I'm sure some of the visitors on the garden tour thought it odd to see this "weed" growing in my yard but as it said in the brochure, "Gardens are a form of autobiography" and this suits me perfectly.  I often find beauty in the rejected and despised parts of nature.  So, grow, grow, grow!

A weed is no more than a flower in disguise, Which is seen through at once, if love give a man eyes. James Russell Lowell

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.