Today's Thoughts

By AApple

End of a Chapter

I graduated!!! After 6 years of school, I have finally obtained my Bachelor of Science degree. :)  Is it odd that I don’t feel like an “adult” yet? Haha… But sometimes when I overhear teenagers talk about their “worries”, I do feel much older than them. :)


This year was a special year for my school. It was the University of British Columbia's Centennial year! It means that it has been 100 years since the institution's first graduating class, and that I was in one of the institution's centennial grad classes! Hence the special tassel on my mortar board, the commemorative folder with my degree inside, and the engraved commemorative stone.

There were some difficult times in these past 6 years. There were fun times too. And times when I was just bored. :/  But the most memorable part of undergrad was the work experience that I gained. Through my school’s work experience program, I put my studies on hold for 16 months while I did full-time work. Because of this, it took a little longer for me to graduate, but it was one of the best decisions I ever made. I had the chance to work with so many different people. I found out what I liked and what I didn’t like about working and research, and gained newfound appreciation and respect for the long and difficult process of making new scientific discoveries.

Something that makes this year even more exciting was that my younger sister also graduated, from high school! It was really great to graduate in the same year as her. She has come a long way, and I am so proud of her what she has accomplished! She has a school to go to in September. She will be enrolled in a program that is perfect for her, so I am so happy and deeply grateful that our family has been blessed with such good fortune. :3


Not sure where I will be or what I will be doing next year. For now, I will enjoy my summer, free of worries. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.