The moment when the helicopter goes under you

I walked and walked and walked. From Russian Hill to Chinatown, from Coit Tower to Grace Cathedral. It started misty, as often, then it brightened up, then I decided to walk across the Golden Gate Bridge.

If I am honest, no I didn't really enjoy the experience, and I was as far from the edge as possible especially on the way out when six lanes of cars whizzed by. On the way back I felt considerably better and even ran as a large cargo ship was going to pass right underneath me, if I was far enough out. The views are spectacular but somewhere deep in my psyche, I just don't enjoy it, so I persevere. Oh and to make matters worse, a helicopter starts being clever and flies under the bridge.

In the evening, I met a very dear old colleague for some exceptional Ethiopian food and some live jazz music, which was just what was needed.

18°

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.