Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

At the End

Giving bad news is really one of the worst things about being a doctor - and today I had to give some really bad news.

Afterward I headed to the station, and found myself running. The hospital is on a hill, and I really dislike running downhill. I feel heavy and clunky, and really notice the impact - but not today: today I just glid down the hill, and only slowed to a walk after a while because I figured I should still be being kind to my peroneus.

I do not think these two are unrelated. I only wish that a bit of running could help my patient's emotions as much as it did mine.

Here's the sunset I encountered a bit further towards the railway station. I stitched a bunch of shots with Autostitch on my iPad, and processed the resulting image with Filterstorm: a duplicate layer with "soft light" blend mode applied with a gradient mask mostly to the bottom of the image; and raised brightness using a gradient mask to get the top of the image.

Here it is large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.