The Khyber Pass

And so after 11 hours of travel, with four bus journeys and a ferry crossing, His Lordship and I are reluctant returnees to the big smoke.
As Wildwood so aptly put it- better to leave the party while you are still having fun.

With the sun streaming through the bedroom window at 5 am yet again, I went out into the stillness of early morning Stromness and did a farewell reconnoitre up passage ways and along lanes where the house tucked away in odd corners still slept. Life in the islands starts later than in the city, although the early ferry to Scrabster had glided out silently at 6:30 as usual.
None one was abroad, only the odd cat watched me as I passed by with my camera making mental au revoirs to familiar places until next year.

The Khyber Pass is the name of a very narrow lane leading down from a higher lane to the Street below with very steep dark steps at the foot. It is obvious how it got its name.

My extra image was taken last night about 10 pm from the bedroom window, when a rainbow lit up Orphir.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.