Day 15-Making Friends with the Animals

It has been a day of sunshine and showers and very painful knees. The paving stones on the Stromness street have played havoc with the latter belonging to His Lordship and he is having to curtail his stravaiging. He assures me that once he gets back home to the gym, they will improve.

Meanwhile I am allowed out to walk on my own and so this morning I took to the road just after 7 to explore hitherto uncharted territory round the back of Brinkie's Brae. There I was free to chat to fields of cows and horses out of sight of water. I found this a little unsettling because on this east side of the mainland, there is generally a loch or the sea round every corner.

This afternoon we rectified the fact that on our 7 visits to Orkney we have never before visited the Stromness Museum. It was apt that we did today, the 200th anniversary of the town becoming a Burgh of Barony which meant it no longer paid taxes to Kirkwall and formed its own town council. It's motto is Per Mare.

My extra is a wall of wild violets I saw on the way home this morning,

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.