Out with the old...

and in with the new!!

I am so excited.  This week I made a huge investment and purchased a brand spanking new set of golf clubs.  I'm not one to blame my equipment usually, however when I turned up at the Drummond Golf shop in Penrith this week with my old set I created quite a stir.  Natasha the young golf professional could hardly contain herself.  When she had finished rolling around the floor laughing her head off, she asked me how old set was.  I had to confess that I purchased them  32 years ago.  

Now I know that huge advances have been made in sporting equipment over the years.  I do in fact have a squash racket that sits proudly in a glass cabinet in my office.  This racket has huge memories attached to it for me from a squash event I won in 1979, however if I was to walk onto a squash court with it today I would be laughed off the court.

So after feeling totally deflated by the outburst from the staff at the golf shop I decided enough was enough for the old clubs and I would in fact invest in a lovely new set of Cobras.  How I go with these clubs.....only time will tell, but there was another hilarious moment when I was playing with them for the first time on Thursday.  I had taken the 8 iron out of the bag on the 1st hole only to find I hadn't taken the cellophane wrapping off the grip!!!  OOPS.

I have added an extra for all you golfing buffs.  It's a shot of the set up they have at Drummond Golf.  This fellow is just hitting off on the 1st hole of a very famous golf course in NSW.  He's going to play the entire 18 holes, putting included.  I have been told that they have 93 famous golf courses from around the world programmed into their system and if I wanted to I could actually play the entire St Andrews Course in Scotland.  How cool is that.  This set up is the modern equivalent of the old Driving Range and I can visit the store and practise my golf any time I like.  Virtual golf has arrived!!

EXTRA EXTRA!!!  I have just added and extra image that was sent to me by my brother and sister-in-law yesterday.  It was taken at Exmouth and it's their boat being followed by a frolicking Orca Whale.  I think I would have had a heart attack if I'd been in that boat at the time. It's quite an extraordinary shot so I wanted to share it with my blip buddies.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.