Ice cream by the beach

Today is Mum's birthday. She would have been a sprightly 87. While Dad went out for lunch with other family at the other end of the country, I went to New Brighton and had lunch at my friend's cafe.

If you live in Christchurch do visit Hector Cafe at New Brighton. Troy is a chef and makes everything on site. I think they're shut Monday and Tuesday. I ate food that wasn't sloppy either :-)

It was lovely to think of Mum and celebrate what she's contributed in my life. I was blessed with a wonderful Mum that's for sure. I've learned to carry her in my heart.

After lunch I took a wander around New Brighton. While severely battered by the earthquakes it's a lovely place and I enjoyed my time there. It was pleasantly warm in the sun but I kept a scarf up around my face and jaw.

These 2 enjoyed their ice cream in the sun. She even managed to colour coordinate with the wall to the right :-)

I continue to carefully look after the wound in my mouth. I tested it early this morning out in the cold. With a muff around my face in the morning I think I can gently bike to work ok tomorrow.

It's just a bit bothersome at this end of the day. I'm hoping that's just the end of the day thing when any pain is magnified, and not any sign of deterioration. Only another day or 2 and I should be beyond the potential complication period.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.