If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Dexter Bull

After I had prepped the Lodge for this weeks guests I made my way along to the show.  After a quick cuppa and chat at Clickychick's marquee I set off round the show.

One of the joys (to me at least) of any agricultural show is visiting the livestock.   As I wondered up and down the cattle lines I couldn't help thinking how even the breeds have changed since I was a boy.   There were a good number of Dexters on show, a breed I had heard of as boy but never seen.  The tiny size of them always impresses me.

Dexters originated is SW Ireland developed as were the Kerrys from the native black cattle farmed by the celts.  They get their name from Mr Dexter who arrived in Ireland in 1750 as agent for a Mr Hawarden.  They stand 92 - 107 cm (36 - 42 inches) at the shoulder and weigh 300 - 350 Kg (6 - 6.5 cwt)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.