The Wren

By TheWren

300 days

On the event of my blip birthday I wanted to find an image which captured the beauty around me in Perthshire. A beauty which I have known to be there but one which has been accentuated by my involvement with blip where my eyes have been opened and my awareness of nature, both here and across the world, deepened over 300 inspirational days.

Not only have I become aware of the infinite beauty of clouds, landscapes, grasses, insects and even slugs here at home, I have also come to appreciate the aftermath when forces of nature such as earthquakes and hurricanes change our landscape and lives. I have been introduced to new birds and flowers, new customs and travelled to places I had only dreamed about. Most importantly I have been invited into people's lives through their images and journals and have forged friendships with folk I may never meet but whose warmth and caring encouragement are tangible.

"When one tugs at a single thing in nature, he finds it attached to the rest of the world." said John Muir, the Scottish-born American naturalist way back in the 19th century. So also is my experience of blip.

The next 65 days of my first blip journey will take me to the Highlands of Scotland and then to the Nevada desert in America where I will be when I hope to celebrate a full year of blipping. I really look forward to your company along the way.

By the way this image is of Loch Earn where I enjoyed a celebratory Orkney ice cream!





Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.