Oh My Days!

By lovelupins17

Oxenhope Straw Race..

Oxenhope straw race today... (thank you Photopete for the nod), it originated in Oxenhope, with two men who bet each other that they could win a race between pubs, carrying a bale of straw and that race is now held annually to raise money for local charities. 
Today, over 150 teams took part, all in fancy dress... and this is team Simpson before the race began.
All teams carry a bale of straw around all the pubs in Oxenhope, stopping at each one for..... free refreshments.  
Along with the Simpsons I saw Rambo, aliens, The Iceland football team, Super Mario brothers, Abba, Rod Stewart and Freddie Mercury,  Laurel and Hardy, The 'Cool Runnings' bob sleigh team, and amongst many, many hilarious others... Father Ted, (I heckled, go on, go on, go on, go on, go on of course), 4 very fetching Victorian ladies... I thought they were the Brontes but one too many... any idea who they are? And then forgive my last extra.... oh those party boys - oh my eyes :O 

Again, please do forgive my slack blipping of late, I'm watching the footy this evening again... come on Iceland :))) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.